Web Content Viewer

Become a Family Peer Supporter

A Certified Family Peer Supporter (CFPS) is someone who self-identifies as the caregiver of an individual with behavioral health challenges (mental health/substance use disorder); and who has navigated service systems for at least one year on behalf of the individual.

A caregiver may include a birth parent, adoptive parent, foster parent, legal guardian/custodian, or a person chosen by the family or youth to have the role of primary caregiver. A CFPS supports an individual’s or family’s ability to address needs, navigate systems and promote recovery, resiliency, and wellness. They promote services that are family driven, youth guided, trauma-informed, and culturally competent. A CFPS can provide both basic and intensive family support services and participate as an active member of treatment teams in a variety of settings.

In order to become certified, OhioMHAS currently accepts two pathways to certification: through work experience or by completing eligible training.

Work Experience

OhioMHAS currently allows individuals to apply for certification if they have three years of work or volunteer experience as a peer navigator, peer specialist, peer supporter, or peer recovery coach. This experience will need to be verified through documentation


OhioMHAS accepts two Family Peer Support training models as approved curriculums for CFPS:

Participants will need to complete the full training and receive their certificate of completion for the training before they can apply to become a Certified Family Peer Supporter.

Applying for Certification

All individuals who have the training or work experience noted above and meet the eligibility requirements below must apply to become CFPS through the application portal eLicense Ohio. In addition to the training or work experience noted above, the following is required for a complete and compliant application:

  • A high school diploma or GED.
  • Pass the applicable Certified Family Peer Services exam.
  • Attest to the OhioMHAS Peer Recovery Services Code of Ethics.
  • Pass a Bureau of Criminal Investigations (BCI) background check and a Federal bureau of investigation (FBI) criminal records check conducted within one year of submission 

Certification Renewal

CFPS are certified for a two-year period. In order to be eligible for recertification, Applications for initial CFPS certification and recertification are processed thru the E-license platform at: www.elicense.ohio.gov.