You are here : Regulation  >  Licensure/Certification  >  About
About Licensure and Certification

The Ohio Department of Mental Health & Addiction Services has statutory and regulatory authority over providers of mental health services to Ohio consumers. Separate standards apply depending on the type and level of service provided. The type and level of service is organized in the following manner: Community Mental Health Agencies, Residential Facilities and Inpatient Psychiatric Service Providers.

Community Mental Health Agencies require certification by OhioMHAS when they provide mental health services that are funded by a community mental health board or when they are subject to department licensure of a residential facility according to section 5119.22 of the Revised Code. Community Mental Health Agencies may also voluntarily request certification.

Residential Facilities require licensure by the department if they operate a publicly or privately operated home or facility serving individual with mental illness. There are three types of Residential Facility License which OhioMHAS can issue: Type 1 – provides Room & Board, Personal Care, and Certified Mental Health services to one or more adults, or children or adolescents; Type 2 – provides Room & Board and Personal Care services to one or two adults, or children or adolescents; Type 3 – provides Room & Board to five or more adults

Inpatient Psychiatric Service Providers require licensure if they are private psychiatric hospitals providing acute inpatient mental health services.

Information explaining some of the office functions, as well as requirements is included below. For a more detailed explanation of the rules and processes involved in Certification and/or Licensure, a provider interested in obtaining Certification and/or Licensure is encouraged to read the applicable standards.

Bureau of Licensure & Certification

The Bureau of Licensure & Certification performs regulatory activities regarding community mental health agencies, private psychiatric hospitals and residential facilities that provide mental health services and activities to persons with mental illness or a severe mental disability.

Regulatory activities include on-site surveys, inspections and reviews to determine compliance with the applicable administrative rules. Agencies are certified every three years, private psychiatric units/hospitals are licensed annually, and residential facilities are licensed every two years. Entities in compliance are issued a certificate and/or license to conduct specific mental health services and activities.

Other activities include technical assistance on the application and survey process; maintenance certification and licensure database; responding to and investigating complaints and concerns related to health and safety and other administrative rule violations, and following up on Private Psychiatric Hospital Incident Notification reports and Community/Residential Incident Notification reports.

Bureau of Standards Development & Administrative Rules

This office also performs duties that are part of the regulatory process, along with its responsibility for oversight of the Department’s Ohio Administrative Code rules. The Community Client Safety Manager reviews and follows up on incident notification reports submitted by certified community mental health agencies and licensed Residential Facilities. Some providers seeking certification as a community mental health agency are required to achieve and maintain appropriate behavioral health accreditation as a condition of certification. This office can provide information about and assistance with this process. It also reviews and approves applications for deemed status.

Quality Improvement

Certified community mental health agencies are required to develop and implement performance improvement activities as part of the certification and/or accreditation process. In addition, certified agencies are required by the Ohio Administrative Code to submit a Performance Improvement survey. Currently, OhioMHAS requires a semi-annual submission.

Consumer Outcomes

Rule 5122-28-04 of the Ohio Administrative Code requires each OhioMHAS certified provider to use a system to measure consumer outcomes for children and youth and for adults who receive publicly funded mental health services. The consumer outcomes system agencies must use is described in the “Consumer Outcomes Procedural Manual”. The Office of Research and Evaluation is responsible for developing and maintaining the Ohio Consumer Outcomes system, and can provide technical assistance.

Client Rights

An agency applying for certification as a community mental health agency must develop a written Client Rights Policy and Grievance Procedure in accordance with Ohio Administrative Code Sections 5122-26-18 and 5122:2-1-02. A copy of the policy must be provided in writing and explained orally at intake or the next appointment. The rights must also be posted in locations that are visible to consumers in each building operated by the agency.